News‎ > ‎

Action Alert - Senate Special Order Calendar

posted Apr 18, 2013, 6:03 AM by Brant Warren   [ updated Apr 18, 2013, 6:06 AM ]
The Alabama Homebrew Bill, HB9, was reported favorably by the Senate Job Creation and Economic Development Committee yesterday afternoon. The next step is for the whole Senate to vote on it. If HB9 gets approved by the Senate, then it goes to the governor to sign into law!

But first, it must be chosen out of the large stack of available bills to be placed on the Senate's agenda for a vote. The Senate Rules Committee defines each day's agenda on what is called a Special Order Calendar. In fact, there will be only eight more Legislative Days left in the session for HB9 to be placed on a Special Order Calendar. Those days will span about the next month's time, but this means we have only 8 more opportunities to earn our Right To Brew....

So, what can you do to help? Contact some or all members of the Alabama Senate Rules Committee and politely ask them to please allow HB9 to get a vote by placing it on a Special Order Calendar as soon as possible. Last year's Homebrew Bill died because the Senate never brought it up for a vote. We must not let that happen again this year!

The following senators constitute the Rules Committee. You will be surprised how quickly you can go through the list of phone numbers, one by one, asking the senators' assistants who answer something like, "Please allow HB9, the Homebrew Bill, to get its chance for a vote by placing it on a Special Order Calendar." Or, if you prefer, several of the senators have email addresses listed.

Thank you all for helping pass HB9, the Alabama Homebrew Bill!

Senate Rules Committee Members
------------------------------
Senator Jabo Waggoner, Chair
(334) 242-7892
jabo.waggoner@alsenate.gov

Senator Jimmy Holley, Vice Chair
(334) 242-7845

Senator Scott Beason
(334) 242-7794

Senator Roger Bedford
(334) 242-7862
senbedford@aol.com

Senator Gerald Dial
(334) 242-7874

Senator Priscilla Dunn
(334) 242-7793

Senator Vivian Figures
(334) 242-7871
vivian.figures@alsenate.gov

Senator Rusty Glover
(334) 242-7886

Senator Tammy Irons
(334) 242-7888
tammy@ironslawfirm.com

Senator Arthur Orr
(334) 242-7891
http://www.arthurorr.com/contact

Senator Trip Pittman
(334) 242-7897
trip.pittman@alsenate.gov

Senator Paul Sanford
(334) 242-7867
paul.sanford@alsenate.gov

Senator Clay Scofield
(334) 242-7876
clay.scofield@alsenate.gov

Senator Paul Bussman
(334) 242-7855
p_bussman@bellsouth.net


---
Right To Brew
http://www.alahomebrewing.org